The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Neil Postman, �Technopoly: The Surrender of Culture to Technology�

Started July 27 � Finished July 28, 2004; 224 pages. Posted 22 September 2004

Postman has written several cultural criticism books, usually concentrating on how our entertainment culture has brought about our own version of Brave New World. Here, he goes once step further to suggest that that technology has debased our culture, usually for the worst.

Consider the technological marvel of the clock. Postman notes that the clock, an invention originally intended for priests and monks and people who wanted to devote their time rigorously to their God. Now, it�s utilized for people who want to devote themselves to money. As Postman notes, capitalism would not have been successful without the clock.

That�s a fair point, as a lot of my paychecks would be smaller if I didn�t have a watch, as I�m usually reading in the coffee shop across the street before I start. If I didn�t know it was time to work, I�d probably still be out there reading.

But Postman is using his book (a technology in itself) to make the plea for less reliance on technology. I just got back from a two-and-a-half week vacation in Kaua�i. No phone. No TV. No radio. No newspaper.

And it�s now my first full day back. To celebrate, I�ve done nothing but play my Playstation, watch MST3K, listen to my 300-disc CD player on random setting, and work on these stupid reviews.

And it�s glorious.

Look, I like Hawaii. I like it a lot. But I also like Aqua Teen Hunger Force. And The Daily Show. And my Playstation. I wasn�t missing these things while I was there (and I�ll get around to that story in a little while, I still have six or so other books to review first), but now that I�m back, I�m bowing to sweet, sweet technology.


Rating: Worth working in a used bookstore and getting for cheap.

previous - next - random review