The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

William White (editor), �Ernest Hemingway � Dateline: Toronto�

Started November 8 � Finished November 16, 2004; 478 pages. Posted 07 December 2004

OK, we know that Hemingway reviews are set to music. This is the last Hemingway book I have. That doesn�t mean I�ve read all his works � I haven�t, but I wouldn�t hold your breath waiting for me to pick up another one by him.

So, for this review of Hemingway�s journalism work, let�s set it to Sinead O�Conner�s �Nothing Compares 2 U.� (And yes, music puritans, I know that Prince did the song first. I haven�t heard the Prince version.)

Anyway, start the stock black and white scratchy footage now.

---

I�ve read seven novels by Hemingway
And I finished this book today
I read how you�d fuck every night and drink all day
At it all seemed rather clich�

But before those you worked for the Toronto Star
and wrote about the people you choosed
You�d go eat your dinner in a fancy restaurant
And nothing
and nobody managed to get interviewed.

�Cause reporting ain�t fair
when it�s compared to you

I�ve studied media for eight long years.
making sure I don�t write long
But it didn�t matter when reporting in the twenties
A no-quote story just sounds so wrong

I can�t put myself into every single lede.
Ever hear about the two source rule?
He went to Toronto, n�guess what you told me
Guess what he told me

He said �going fishing can be mighty fun
If you have the tools�
And this is news?

`Cause reporting ain�t fair
When it�s compared to you

All the stories that you printed, papa
In the Toronto Star
read like a bad short story
I know that reporting on a daily is sometimes hard.
But it seemed like you never tried.

So work in retail
And if you care, buy used.


Rating: See above

previous - next - random review