The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Greg Cox, �Daredevil: The Official Movie Novelization�

Started September 12 � Finished September 15, 2005; 259 pages. Posted 07 January 2006

I suppose it�s about time that I talk about the new job, working at the dance club in Hawaii in my new capacity as bartender. And I guess I could tell about doing my first takedown, forgetting what the hell something as simple as a screwdriver was after making all the stupid drinks like an Alien Brain, or a Four Horsemen, or a Liquid Cocaine.

But you know, it�s been a long time since I put anything in song. I know, the rule was to do that with Hemingway books, but I finished all of his books that I have, and those didn�t make me want to pick up the two or three I haven�t read yet. So, I might as well do it was something as inconsequential as this book, no?

Yeah, you�re right � no. Tough shit.

So, I picked David Bowie�s �Suffragette City� for the song template. I realize it�s not an easy song to simply read to, particularly since this comes from the Early Mush-mouthed David Bowie, as opposed to the later dance hits when he changed his voice to sound more like he was doing narration for something terribly important. On albums like Ziggy Stardust, Bowie had this gift of changing his inflection to make any word sound like it rhymes.

I should get the same courtesy.

It�ll probably be easiest if you just stop reading, go grab the album and put on the song so you can read along to it. If you don�t have it, well, you�re no friend of mine.

So, allow me to present �My Life as A Bartender in Hawaii at an Alternative Club.� In... Whatever key this is in. Hell, I don�t know, I play drums and I only picked that so I could hit things. Repeatedly. With sticks. So watch it.

---


Rating: Flea market prices

previous - next - random review