The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Alan Moore, �Across the Universe: The DC Universe Stories�

Started December 8 � Finished December 14, 2005; 208 pages. Posted 01 March 2006

You�re going to have to excuse me if this entry comes off as particularly disjointed. If you�ve noticed the dates that I actually finish these fucking things, and compare them to the date when they actually get posted, well, there�s a bit of a lag time.

On Sunday, I finished a novel by Richard Russo that really shook my foundations. I�m still a little thunderstruck. And while I�d like to talk about that now, if I did, I wouldn�t have anything to say when it actually came time to review his book, as I have seven additional books waiting for �review.� Three of the books waiting are for the same genre, so I�ll probably combine those into one entry. That still means five other reviews, along with monthly and year-end round ups before I can get to the heart of what�s bothering me.

Still, however, when I say that something�s bothering me, I mean it. I suppose I can at least try to approach what�s going on in my head.

First of all, Alan Moore is a sonovabitch. Nobody should have that much capacity to make shit up, if they don�t already work for the Washington Press Corps. The guy is too fucking talented. Most of this collection consists of where he simply filled in for and issue or two, and yet somehow, he made something more poignant than most of these titles deserved.

Even with his short stories for the lesser-known comic Vigilante, a substandard Punisher rip off, he managed to pull something out of that mass of hair around his cranium to make a compelling story line.

Fucking talented bastard.

And I suppose that�s what I�m alluding to in regards to the state of my psyche as of late. How many people do you know that are doing what they felt they were born to do? Probably not many. Worse, how many of the people you know are doing what they want? I think Alan Moore is one of those people, but I don�t know him, so I can�t speak in his behalf.

As for myself, I can�t be included in that small percentage of people mentioned above. And frankly, I think that�s a little stupid.

I have ideas on how to stop that. But first, to Sonya, if you do indeed have discounts to personal recorders, let me know. I need one.

But more on that later.

In the meantime, if you�re just simply waiting for the next installment in the �What went wrong with Dean�s life this week,� I collected my car to head to the nightclub on Friday, and instead decided to ride my bike to work, despite the fact that it was raining like fuck.

Why? Flat tire.

And yes, I have a spare, but for some reason, my trunk won�t open any more, so I can�t get it out.

Finally, just because Sephim asked, here�s the playlist from tonight when I played the Punk rock records, though it�s not in order. Everybody else can skip over this:


Rating: Worth used.

previous - next - random review