The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

End of the Year Review: 2006

Started January 2, 2006 - Finished January 1, 2007. Posted 15 May 2007

Yep, it�s the middle of May and I�m just now getting around to wrapping up the books from 2006. Of course, I was never on time with the year end wrap up. After the first year finished, I did the wrap up on Jan. 4. The next year was Jan 27. The year after that, I managed to type it out on Feb. 2. Then, last year, I finally got around to it on March 4. So there was always a steady decline in my timeliness, but this year I took lethargy by the horns, pulled it up to my chin and took a nap.

Of course, being lazy about writing about the books I read is nothing comparing with the indifference I took with actually reading the books themselves. I mean, really � when I first started this in an attempt to catch up with my book buying habits, I read 209 books. In a year. Being an English major, I can�t do the math to give you an average book-per-week ratio, but it was a lot. I mean really, how many habits do you have where you managed to do it 209 times in 365 days?

Masturbation doesn�t count.

Anyhoo, the next year I read 171 books. Then 164. Last year, it dropped to 101. And in 2006�

Fifty five.

Whoa. Guess I need to cut back on the masturbation.

It�s not getting any better folks. Looking at the books that have been sitting on my desk waiting to be reviewed since January (excluding 300, which I jumped ahead to put in the movie review that nobody cared about), there�s a grand total of six books. That makes seven books in five and a half months. Yeah, yeah, that�s still better than most of the general public. That really doesn�t make me feel any better.

But I have an excuse, and I think it�s a reasonable one. See, the reason I got so far behind in books in the first place was because I worked in a goddamn used book store, for cry-eye! There�s a reason you see fat people working in ice cream shops. (well, assuming they�re not kids working for two months before they get fired for doing something incredibly foul to the ice cream, which is why I don�t go to them.

But if I did, and I saw somebody working there who wasn�t a degenerate angst-filled emo teen, I bet they�d be fat. When you�re surrounded by the product five days a week, eight hours a day, you tend to get absorbed in the environment.

Now, I read a lot, and always did. I still do, but these days I get paid for it, what with the newspaper job. By the time I�m finished reading press releases, reading my interpretation of said press releases and every other feature for the newspaper, well, I�ve had my fill of the written word.

But as most of you know (I seemed to have been added by another diaryland person � say hello to toejam, everybody!), I also have another job, that of a bartender. Obviously, my priorities have shifted, and I�m spending all my time trying to catch up on all the alcohol available at my new job.

It beats reading Kerouac.

I�m kidding, I�m kidding. I�m not trying to drink all the alcohol at my job � our bar is too expensive for that, and I won�t drink tequila after that time I woke up under a car. It was a parked car that I crawled under to hide from the party so I wouldn�t have to drink any more tequila, which makes for a lousy story, but it was still embarrassing enough to boycott it to this day.

In any case, if I can ever get around to it, I have tales of window accoutrements, amateur drinkers, car burglaries and media censorship. But that�ll have to wait because I have to do this stupid roundup.

So, for the technical aspects, in 2006, I read, as stated, 55 books. Money spent on said books: $312.44 (approximately � my filing system isn�t anything like it used to be since I moved.) Books left to read: 21. Christ. I hope I can at least finish that many.

And then there�s the top (and bottom) books that I read. I guess I�ll stick with tradition and try and do 14 of each, but don�t count on it next year � I may not have finished 14 books by then.

14 different bottles of whisky, however�

Worst Books Read Last Year and the drinks I�ve made that coincided with their lousiness.

  • #7: Kurt Vonnegut, Between Time and Timbuktu: Or, Prometheus-5

  • #6: Joseph Heller, God Knows

  • #5: Stephen King, Wolves of the Calla

  • #4: Judith Jacklin & Tino Insana, Blues Brothers: Private

  • #3 Erik Grayson, A Mind of Summer

  • #2: Chuck Palahniuk, Haunted

  • #1: Barbara Ehrenreich, Nickel and Dimed

    Enough about the bad stuff, because I also read some stuff that I liked, and made drinks that I like as well.