The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Neil Gaiman, �The Books of Magic�

Started December 28 � Finished December 29, 2003; 196 pages. Posted 08 January 2004

I remember before I read any of The Sandman, or any of Neil Gaiman books for that matter, and this came into the store. I flipped through the first couple of pages, thought it looked pretty goofy, and put it back on the shelf. Now, four years later, I picked it up again just for Gaiman�s involvement alone. And reading over the first few pages again, I remembered why I put it down in the first place.

It got better, thank Christ, but it�s like what I mentioned in the last review for Philip K. Dick a few entries back. I should be more interested in a book that looks interesting, rather than just blindly picking up anything with a certain author�s name on it.

Last month I decided that I wasn�t going to put anything more on my hold shelf at work until I bought all the books I had put there in the first place. Then I realized there would be other things that would come in the store that I HAD to have, and things that didn�t come in all the time.

And so when a Ralph Steadman book came in the other day, just after I finished this particular book by Gaiman, I went to my shelf, took another book by Gaiman, and put it back on the shelf.

It sold two hours later. I�m only moderately pissed I put it back.


Rating: Worth working in a used bookstore and getting for cheap.

previous - next - random review