The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Intermission

. Posted 01 May 2005

The awkward, bespectacled, greasy sci-fi fan with the nervous laugh looked over the Star Trek DVD box sets with a trace of longing. I rang up his stack of books; three Star Wars novelizations along with two Deep Space Nine adaptations.

�Yes,� he said for no reason at all in a high nasal flem-flecked voice that had obviously never touched a drop of whiskey or inhaled a cigarette, �I�m really looking forward to the new Star Wars movie.�

�Really?�

�Oh yes, aren�t you?�

�Good god, no. I�m still suffering nightmares about the sheer awfulness of Episode One.�

He changed the subject abruptly, looking a little hurt. �Well, The Hitchiker�s Guide turned out pretty good.�

�Did it? I haven�t seen it yet.�

�Yes.� He started chuckling. I waited for him to let go of his credit card so I could scan it.

�I believe it was the only movie that Ebert and Roeper gave two thumbs out for.�

He giggled harder, still not letting go of the card. I stared at him. He continued to giggle, shoulders convulsing up and down.

I�m surprised I was able to leap over the counter, much less leap while swinging my fists, considering my broken collarbone. Now I need to figure out how to mop up all of this blood.


Rating: n/a

previous - next - random review