The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

End of the Month Review: April, 2005

Started April 2 � Finished May 1, 2005. Posted 28 June 2005

Today is the memorial service for my old mentor. I�m planning on going, though I�m not sure it�s a good idea. I�ve had it in my head lately that the entire world needs to be heckled. There�s a character in the Hitchhiker�s Guide to the Galaxy series (third book) who takes upon the monstrous task of personally insulting everybody in the universe.

In alphabetical order.

I�m far too lazy for any scheme that time-consuming, so I�ll just say this:

Are you really going to wear that?

Yeah. That�ll do.

Though I haven�t heard any personal comment about it, I really need to go see Land of the Dead. And root for the zombies. Gimmie an �A!�

�Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa...�

Anyway. So I need to really try and pick up the pace on reviewing the two-month back stock, but it isn�t easy. I�m still working full time, still doing school busy work, still have no idea where I�m going to live, and free time has gone to practicing with the two bands and meeting with people that I�ll never see again. In a twenty-four hour period, I had drinks with an old girlfriend, had lunch with hot professor, and practiced with my old bass player, all of whom I had enormous crushes on at one time or another. Still do, probably.

Since I still have to get ready for the memorial service, I really need to stop typing here. But first...

�What are your books about?� I asked.

�Oh! They�re religious books,� she answered.

�Ok, is that Western or Eastern religion?�

Her confused look grew more extreme, her mouth opening wider. She apparently didn�t know there was a difference. That usually means they have Western religion.

�So, is it about Christianity?�

�Oh! Yeah!�

�Ok, that�s a strong section. Now, do you have bible study materials, or is it more on the history of Christianity and Catholicism?�

�They�re books... that were written by people.�

As opposed to books written by fish and vacuum cleaners and aluminum siding. Which is good, because we don�t buy any of those.

Allow me to channel Charlton Heston for a moment.

�These books were written by people! PEOPLE!!!�

Oy. But the countdown goes like this. Between April 2 and May 1, I...

So for the year, I...

And again, being as far behind as I am, AND being in the middle of selling books off and attempting to get ready to flee, I can�t tell you how many I had left at this point and time.

I can, however, tell you that I have 17 books left to read as of now. Seventeen. It�s feasible that I might be done with this stupid project just in time to leave on August 15.

If it weren�t for the 20 or so books waiting for me to buy at work.

Again, oy.


Rating: Oy.

previous - next - random review