The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Pat Mills and Kevin O�Neill, �Marshal Law: Fear and Loathing�

Started June 24 - Finished June 25, 2004; 200 pages. Posted 13 July 2004

I�m sure everybody has had that realization at some point in their life when they read or watch something they loved as a child, only to find that it wasn�t very good at all. Most of these things are excusable. There could have been a dozen of outside factors that made them love that stupid romantic comedy, or clich�d book. It could have been the people they saw it with, the relationship it reminded them of, the grandfather who bought it for them, or the fact that they were six years old, and didn�t know any better.

So what excuse do I have for reading this when I was 19 and loving it?

Oh yeah. I was drunk.

All right, it wasn�t that bad, and this comic makes fun of the whole enormous muscle-bound superhero with big-titted girlfriend genre and while utilizing it, and then turns it on its ear. More important, it�s one of the earlier comics to do so, so I�m not bugged by the fact that it�s been done so many times since then.

But at the same time, I wish it were as good as I remembered.

I can say that about a lot of things.


Rating: Worth Used.

previous - next - random review