The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Graham Chapman, et al, �M�nti Pyth�n ik den H�lie Gr�ilen (B�k)�

Started December 22 � Finished December 23, 2003; 281 pages. Posted 02 January 2004

This is a little late in writing about, as the show passed on December 12, but I got to see Eric Idle in concert, and you didn�t. So there.

What�s more, I got to see him for free, and with some of the best seats in the house. Originally I was going to buy the cheapest tickets available, which means we probably would have been seated outside, but I checked the Monty Python website and found out they needed people to pass out flyers, in exchange for tickets. I wrote how all my Monty Python acquisitions were through second hand stores, and I wasn�t about to start paying for tickets now, and they put me on the guest list.

They sent me a bunch of flyers to pass out, which I soon realized cost me more than if I had just bought the tickets in the first place. See, I would go to a place like Tower records, and decide to look around, and of course, found something to buy. Then I dropped off flyers at Rasputin�s and bought four things there. Next stop, Streetlight Records, where I found six albums. Then a comic book shop. Then Savers. Etc., Etc., Ad Nauseam.

My free tickets had shot up to nearly a hundred bucks.

But it was worth it � sort of. Like I said, we had great seats; right in the center, six rows back from the stage. But we were surrounded by people who were big enough Monty Python fans to shell out the big bucks to see one guy relive past glory, and thus they knew every word uttered, every song sung, and every punch line delivered. I knew all of these as well, but I didn�t need to prove to the people surrounding me that I knew them by shouting them out loud.

If you�ve seen The Simpsons episode where Homer goes back to college (and I know you have, as if you�re a big enough geek to read my web logs, then you must watch the Simpsons), you can imagine what the rest of the audience was like. My date and I, to counteract the geek factor, made out whenever the house lights went down. In fact, this was my favorite part of the show.

Nudge nudge, wink wink.


Rating: Worth Used.

previous - next - random review