The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

Jim Thompson, �Roughneck�

Started July 24 � Finished July 24, 2004; 163 pages. Posted 21 September 2004

You never realize how long you wait in lines at an amusement park until you bring a book with you. I went to Great America with The Girlfriend today. We knew the lines would be long. We knew we would need books.

It was Bill Hicks who once said that being an American means you could never be caught reading in public. That�s probably why we got such weird looks from other people in line. Look people, we may love each other, but neither of us feels that our jaws have to be constantly flapping.

There isn�t much to do while you�re waiting to get your spine realigned on some roller coaster. You�ve already commented on the fourteen year-olds attempting to smoke. You�ve counted the swastika tattoos. You�ve figured out where that odd smell is coming from. And, in my case, you�ve copped a feel or fifteen. To me, having a book in these types of situations make sense.

But Holy Christ on a stick, I didn�t think lines were actually this long. We were only there for seven hours, and we weren�t reading constantly, but I still finished this book, another biographical work of Thompson being a hoodlum, in less than five hours.

Fortunately, I finished at the exact same time as my girlfriend, and we were able to trade off.

Ever had those scary moments of realization when you know somebody is perfect for you?

Yeah, me neither.


Rating: Worth used.

previous - next - random review