The Monkey King's Used Primate Emporium and Book Reviews

previous - next - random review

End of the YEAR review: 2005

Started January 2 � 2005 � Finished January 1, 2006. Posted 04 March 2006

Officially, I suppose I should be starting with an end of the month review. So for December, 2005, I...

So for the year of 2005, that means I...

Last year, I read 63 more books than this time around, and yet I only spent an additional $116.50. My tastes apparently have become more expensive.

And then that means that since I started this stupid project in 2002, I read 645 books. Kill me.

And I have 27 books left to finish. As a matter of fact, I already finished 11 of them.

There is a light at the end of the tunnel.

Since it�s taken me so long to catch up on documenting of the books I read, it ties in well. There are the Oscars, and the Razzies for film at the end of this weekend, I may as well give out prizes for books. Since I don�t have any money to award, you can have some of my food. I�ve been negative enough in my entries as of late, so let�s start with the positive. Out of those 101 books I read, I picked seven of the best ones.

Oh, what a na�ve child I was.

Hertsgaard, for his efforts, receives a can of tuna. I give this to him for his diligence in research that all came about from the simple fact that something stunk.

And then there are the lousy books I read, those who ought to be ashamed for cheating me out of money I could seriously use right now. I suppose I need to still have some sort of award, however, so we�ll begin with...

Sorry, I�m phrasing that poorly. The shock came because after the heckling started, Black moved away from the political humor to talk about airplane stories and jokes about being drunk. This memoir makes the crime of not being particularly poignant, as well as not being especially funny. Calling his book �Nothing�s Sacred,� he seemed to play it awfully safe. Lewis is welcome to my deleted e-mail offers of reduced airline fares so he can continue to get new material.

A shopping list would be more interesting than this crap. You�re welcome to have my shopping list, mostly because I couldn�t afford most of the items I wrote down. Help a brother out, yo?

---

Just as a warning, I'm going to have to mess with the templates so I can set up the archives properly. Since I have no HTML knowledge (this site was designed by somebody else), I may end up ultimately destroying the entire program. So if this suddenly becomes unavailable over the next few days, you know what happened.


Rating: n/a

previous - next - random review